Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Fort Detrick Volunteer Awards Ceremony held on April 17 was a Red Carpet Extravaganza. The Community Activities Center boasted a red carpet that volunteer honorees were escorted down in order to receive their certificates and awards from U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command Deputy Commander Navy Capt. Keith A. Syring , U.S. Army Garrison Commander, Col. Steven P. Middlecamp, as well as U.S. Army Garrison Command Sgt. Maj. Jessup and U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations Sgt. Maj. Stephen Clark.

In 2013, volunteers reported over 25,500 hours at a value of $550,000.00. A total of 176 volunteers received Certificates of Appreciation signed by USAMRMC and Fort Detrick Commanding General Maj. Gen. Joseph Caravalho, Jr. and Col. Stephen Middlecamp. Individual President’s Service Awards and Group President’s Service Awards were presented to those volunteering between 100 to over 1000 hours in 2013. Joan Derk and Lorenzo Nichols were recipients of the Lifetime President’s Volunteer Service Award for over 4000 hours volunteered. Many volunteers received Governor’s Office on Volunteerism Certificates of Appreciation for their continued volunteer work in support of their community and Maryland.

Frederick City Mayor Randy McClement was on hand to meet some of the Fort Detrick volunteers, including Chris Cason, who volunteered over 5000 hours in Frederick City and the surrounding areas in 2013 and who received the Community Outreach Award for his service to the community surrounding Fort Detrick. Sgt. 1st Class Stacey Mickles from the 21st Signal Brigade was this year’s recipient of the Military Outstanding Volunteer Service Medal. Fort Detrick Organizational Volunteers of the Year include 1st Sgt. Glenn Turk, Jacob Harley, Stuti Ganatra, Troy Baisy, Jevina Davis, Joan Derk, Michael Caselle, Ron Pitts, Lt. Col. Jeanne Norwood, Gail and Douglas Reichard, Lisa Weed, Reggie Kephart, John Wagner and Robert Stohlman and the Martell Family. The overall Fort Detrick Civilian Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Ms. Betty Bennett. The Overall Fort Detrick Military Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Lt. Col. Kate Suarez.

Command Sgt. Maj. retired Brannon Thompson was remembered with a Memorial Citation from the Maryland Governor’s Office for his 38 years of military service, as well as numerous years in volunteer service through the Maj. Gen. Boyd Cook Foundation, Army Community Service, and many other organizations that support the military, veterans, retirees and their families.

Thank you again to all of our volunteers. We can’t wait to see what you do in the coming year. If you are already volunteering, either on post or in the community, and have not yet registered in the Volunteer Management Information System, please visit to sign up.