Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Indian Head Division (NSWC IHD) recognized nearly 90 of its employees on May 1, 2013, at its annual Honorary Awards ceremony held at the Indian Head Pavilion.

NSWC IHD employees received individual and team awards for their contributions in 2012, covering areas such as energetics research and development, managerial excellence, safety, community service and exceptional personal performance.

Three of those awards were NSWC IHD’s highest command-level honors, Timothy McDavid received the Browning Award for Managerial Excellence, James Mackie-Smith received the Dashiel Award for Excellence and James Lightstone won the Patterson Award for Outstanding Accomplishment. All three awards are named after distinguished former leaders who helped shape the history of the command.

Along with the internal award winners, an individual and a team of employees received Warfare Center Awards, which were established to recognize individuals, teams and activities across the Naval Surface Warfare Center enterprise for their contributions of innovation and improvement in the areas of product quality, technical and business development and change leadership.

Carl Gotzmer received a Certificate of Service and Appreciation from the Office of the Director of National Intelligence for his support to the intelligence community and contributions to national security.

Lastly, Steve Kim was presented with a Meritorious Civilian Service Award, the Federal Government’s second highest award and medal. Mr. Kim received this award for his work as a recognized expert for the Department of Defense in the research and development of munitions.

NSWC IHD’s Commanding Officer, Captain Tom Smith, said that the award winners’ significant work represents the high standards that have helped make our command an important part of the Department of Defense for many years.

“The successful products that come out of here don’t happen by accident. They occur from a deep sense of dedication, diligence and attention to what’s important, Smith said. “Today’s ceremony is about recognizing those individuals whose very actions epitomize commitment to excellence in quality, safety, customer service, diversity, integrity, innovation, and teamwork.”

Dennis McLaughlin, NSWC IHD’s Technical Director, said that while only a small group will be receiving awards, that the whole command should be proud.

“Each person in their own way contributes to the success of NSWC IHD and without that dedicated teamwork, days like today would not be possible,” McLaughlin said. “Today we recognize the achievements of individuals and teams that continue to move the Navy forward while being asked to do more with less. Those efforts have not gone unnoticed and we are thankful to have the workforce that we have.”

U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (Md) gave the closing remarks and praised the workforce for their dedication and hard work.

“The men and women of Indian Head bring loyalty, honor, hard work and patriotism, true American values, to the job,” Senator Mikulski said. “I’m so proud to honor the Indian Head community, working day and night to keep us safe over here while protecting our troops over there. Every day and in every way, they provide our fighting troops in uniform with the tools they need to keep us safe. I will continue to fight for the extraordinary workforce at Indian Head and their mission critical to our national security.”
Indian Head Division Command Awards
Robert B. Dashiell Award for Excellence  
 Named after Robert B. Dashiell, the first commanding officer of Indian Head from 1890-1893, he oversaw the establishment and development of the Naval Proving Ground.  Dashiell was a specialist in gun mechanical design who invented the Dashiell rapid-fire breech. This award recognizes the employee, who, within the past year, has made a significant contribution to the mission, and/or operation of Indian Head Division.
Dr. George W. Patterson Award for Outstanding Accomplishment
The Dr. George W. Patterson Award for Outstanding Accomplishment recognizes an individual for his or her outstanding technical accomplishments which have a pronounced effect in support of Indian Head Division operations, as well as advancement in this area of technology.
Joe L. Browning Award for Managerial Excellence
This award recognizes supervisors who demonstrate managerial excellence, practice quality leadership principles, and demonstrate coaching and teaming management skills.
Admiral Harold R. Stark Award for Innovation   
The Admiral Harold R. Stark Award for Innovation is named after the former Naval Inspector of Ordnance in charge of the Naval Proving Ground, Dahlgren, Virginia and the Naval Powder Factory at Indian Head. Stark was appointed as the Chief of Naval Operations in 1939.  This award recognizes an individual or group who made a significant state-of-the-art achievement in their field of endeavor. 
A. J. Perk Outstanding Operator/Technician of the Year     
This award is named after A.J. Perk, whose 34-year career at Indian Head Division was devoted to providing customers with excellent products and services by "doing the job right."  He was perhaps best known for his reputation among wage grade employees and technicians as being fair, firm, decisive and caring regarding the employees' interest.  This award recognizes a model employee who serves as an example to others.
Captain H. E. Lackey Award for Community Service     
The Captain Henry Ellis Lackey Award for Community Service is awarded to an individual or team who provided significant contributions to the community. Captain Lackey was the 12th Commander of Indian Head Division who served from 1917 to 1920. During his tenure, Lackey strove to improve living conditions at Indian Head, and addressed a wide range of social problems such as adequate safety, housing, education, and communications.