Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

JOINT BASE ANACOSTIA-BOLLING, D.C. – Law enforcement officers from nearby counties in Maryland and Virginia were sworn in as official presidential inauguration officers Jan. 15 during a special deputation ceremony held by the U.S. Marshals Service inside the Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling Club.

For occasions such as a presidential inauguration, where thousands of people converge on the nation’s capital at one time, the U.S. Marshals Service has the right by law to reach out to selected federal, state and local law enforcement agencies for assistance. On this day, more than 60 law enforcement officers took an oath to faithfully serve their country from Edwin D. Sloane, a White House appointed U.S. Marshal representing Washington, D.C.

It was the second time JBAB hosted a deputation ceremony. The first was 2009 when President Barack Obama was first elected. Capt. David C. Larsen, of the Maryland Natural Resources Police, said the ceremony further strengthens an already solid working relationship for officers in the Washington metropolitan area.

“We have officers here from Maryland’s Prince George, Queen Anne and Charles counties. We also have representatives from both the Virginia and Maryland State Police,” Larsen said. “We have a great working relationship with one another. That will again be demonstrated during this inauguration.”

Following the deputation ceremony, officers received a briefing on maritime operations from members of the U.S. Coast Guard Station Washington, as well as a waterside security plan for the Jan. 21 presidential inauguration.